Category Archives: Uncategorized

League Race – 22 October – TT

It has indeed been a quiet winter on the League front!  However on the cycling front it has been rather busy.  The paralympics  was a highlight, the juniors had their inter club track trials last month and provincial trials this past weekend, and everyone is out and about on bikes again.
So, our next League Race is scheduled for this Saturday (22 Oct) at the Ride In in the Jonkershoek Valley. It will be the official Time Trial for qualification for 2017. 
The route is the usual 10 km route and afterwards there is a good opportunity for those who find the ride too short to do Helshoogte or some other nearby Boland route.  
Starting at the Ride In, situated at the beginning of the valley, the route is a 5 km out-and-back ride. The turn-around point will be at the entrance gate to the Jonkershoek Nature Reserve. 
Registration at Ride In car park will be opening at 07:00. The race will start at the entrance gate at 07:30.
Obviously, it is VERY IMPORTANT that riders use safety aids like flashing red lights, flags on hand-bikes, etc. and that they should wear bright visible cycling jerseys.
If in doubt about the conditions on the day please phone Mike Burns (0825608119) or JC van der Walt (0823626535) early on Saturday morning.

Opportunities for safe cycling events in the Western Cape

These are some of the exciting meets that the WPCycling Assocc have organised for the winter season.  Follow these links for more information.   The Killarney Events are like crits, just more accommodating and very good training;  the TT events will suit our riders very well.  The distances are in the 20km range, but could be adjusted.

Autumn and Winter League 2016 – TT @ Riebeek Kasteel – Jun 19 @ 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Autumn and Winter League 2016 – Circuit Race @ Killarney Race Track – Jun 26 @ 9:00 am – 9:00 am

Autumn and Winter League 2016 – TT @ Riebeek Kasteel – Jul 10 @ 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Autumn and Winter League 2016 – Circuit Race @ Killarney Race Track – Aug 14 @ 9:00 am – 9:00 am

Autumn and Winter League 2016 – TT @ Melkbos  – Aug 7 @ 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

LEAGUE RACE – Saturday 28 May

The RESULTS of the last League Race on Saturday 8 May.  These races are now suspended until September.
The next post will list all the wonderful opportunities for cycling during the winter months.  There are races at Kilarney and some Time Trials in the country.  The WPcycling community is very happy to incorporate appropriate races for our paracyclists. So please, if at all possible, make use of these fantastic opportunities.

OCC in George – 20 Feb


CONGRATULATIONS to all who took part and did so well at the OCC in George.

Special mention:  Stuart McCreadie who bettered not only his own time, but the course record! – in windy conditions.  Also well done to the winners in different catagories: Delia Lubbe and Denzel Ventura.

See the OCC website for full RESULTS.


LEAGUE RACE (TT and Prize giving)

The Last League Race for 2015 was held on Saturday 21 November.


The last league race of 2015 was held at Ride In and the annual prize giving was held after the race. The overall winners are:

Juniors :-   1st –  Matthew Brooks;
2nd – Adriaan Groenewald and
3rd – Andrew GaddMatthew and Adriaan
Seniors :-  1st – Craig Ridgard;
2nd – Roxy Burns and
3rd – Denzel   Ventura

Certificates for the next categories were handed out:

Fastest Tandem on 16 km route – Hein Wagner & Alwyn de Kock
Fastest Tandem on 35 km route – David Jones & Jason Penz
Fastest handbike on 16 km – Ernst v Dyk (his best ever time on this route)
Fastest bike on 35 km – Craig (also fastest time for this route – including all the tandems)
Fastest bike on 16 km – Craig (fastest time on this route by anyone so far)
Fastest bike on 10 km – Adriaan Groenewald (jnr) with Bilaal Dramat close on his heels
Fastest Trike on 10 km – Willie Kotze
Fastest Trike on 16 km – also Willie
Most promising new comer – Bilaal Dramat
Special mention of riders who presented South Africa during this year.

Special prizes for:
Theo for all his continued support to the races and riders
Eugene who actually had his fastest ride on the 16 km and then gave up…. :)

Well done and thanks for everyone for your support and hard work. Thanks you Thomas for sponsoring the wine and juice.  It was very well received and appreciated. Thanks to Ride In for hosting us.

Results of Saturday’s Race





Ernst and NYC

Well done Ernst with your marathon win in NYC – It’s super cool.!!


A lovely video for all lovers of marathons.  Click on this youtube link

Champions of Champions !!!

We are very proud of our cyclists and when they are acknowledged on the National stage, we are particular chuffed for and with them.  WELL DONE Ernst and Justine.!!  Congratulations are streaming in. Follow them on facebook for photos and more info..

This apt accolade has been posted on the UCI website.

Up against athletes from other sports, Ernst van Dyk, Justine Asher and Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio received the honours at a ceremony in Sandton.

Ernst van Dyk was awarded Sportsman of the Year with Disability and was also nominated alongside able-bodied athletes for Sports Star of the Year. The powerful hand-cyclist is South African time trial and road race champion and 2014 UCI World Champion in the road race. He won Paralympic gold in the road race in 2008 and silver in London 2012.

A hand-cyclist for just two years, Justine Asher is South African national champion and UCI World Champion in the time trial and road race as well as the winner of the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in 2013 and 2014. She won Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability Award.

At the same awards ceremony South African cyclist Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, national champion and bronze medallist at the 2014 Commonwealth Games, won the Sportswoman of the Year award.

UCI President Brian Cookson said the three awards were a fitting recognition for three athletes who had achieved tremendous results throughout the year.

“Cycling had five nominations at the 2014 South African Sports Awards and three winners,” said Mr Cookson. “I congratulate these athletes and also pay tribute to Cycling South Africa and its President William Newman for their commitment to our sport and in particular to their hard work in developing para-cycling which is definitely starting to gain the recognition it deserves.”

Meanwhile para-cyclist George Bouska won the prestigious Czech Cycling Federation’s 2014 King of Cycling award for para-cyclists after winning gold in the time trial and bronze in the road race of the C4 category at the 2014 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships

LIGHTS BY LINEA Hero Challenge 2014

Paracyclists have been invited again to take part in the  LIGHTS BY LINEA Hero Challenge 2014 series, please visit:
Twitter:  #HeroChallenge

For more information, interview requests and any other media enquiries please contact:
Jen Parsons; 074 211 0718

Issued on behalf of:
Wayne Roberts
Managing Director
Lights by Linea (PTY) Ltd